Best Herbs For Clear Skin

Maria Jenell
3 min readNov 25, 2015

--

Cleansing and healing the body naturally through a clean diet takes a little bit of time. And I have found that incorporating herbs into my daily routine was a necessary part of that process to get better and quicker results.

So what do I mean by herbs? In my personal experience with healing my skin from the inside out, parsley and chinese herbs were a part of my daily routine.

  1. Parsley: the herb that we all know. It’s one of the most common herbs out there. It’s been a popular garnish on our dishes for as long as I can remember. The volatile oil in parsley has antibacterial and antifungal properties which help fight infections and prevent acne. This miracle herb has 3 vitamins key for good skin: Zinc, C and K. Zinc is involved in inflammation control, healing the skin and skin regeneration. Vitamin C is high in antioxidants, which help protect and heal the skin. Vitamin K accelerates the skin healing process, while helping to reduce acne scars.
  1. So add parsley to salads, garnish on your hot meal, throw it in your juicer (you will need a large amount in this case) or make it into a tea. For parsley tea, I prefer the flat leaf parsley (Italian) because it’s more fragrant and less bitter. I add ¼ cup of parsley to boiling water and let it steep for about 5 minutes.
  2. Chinese herbs: I met a couple of incredible people in Los Angeles who practice Chinese medicine and have their own clinic. And their wisdom from the far East helped me immensely. I knew nothing about Chinese medicine before I met them….the only herbs I were familiar with were the common kitchen herbs like oregano, parsley, cilantro, basil and rosemary. What I appreciate about traditional Chinese medicine is that it’s very individualized. I was made a formula of herbs based on ME. And there were a blend of a lot of them! I’m not even going to get into which ones they used…because I don’t know them first of all….and most importantly, it’s what worked for me at that moment. Every month I had to go into their clinic so they could look at me and modify the formula. Usually a small tweak–adding this, taking that out, etc…I took these herbs in liquid form, every day, twice a day, for a couple of years.

I really recommend this avenue if you greatly need to detox your body, as I did. The Chinese herbs really target cleansing the organs, especially the liver, which is key for overall health, as the liver is the most detoxifying organ in our body.

The more we learn, the more we see that everything that our bodies truly need are found right in our natural environment. So be sure to pick up a big bundle of parsley next time you’re at your grocery store or farmer’s market. If you want to explore even further and have access to Chinese Medicine in your community, I encourage you to go for it :)

As always, if you have any questions or comments, I’d love to hear from you!

Comments

comments

Originally published at www.mariajenellnicholas.com on November 25, 2015.

--

--

Maria Jenell

Coach residing in Spain. I’m a passionate human who loves traveling, non-virtual connection, music, & gastronomy. People over AI.